Kohli to guide India in Zimbabwe Tour And The Entry Of Rasool

Kohli to guide India in Zimbabwe TourVirat Kohli will guide India while Parvez Rasool turns into the first cricketer from Jammu and Kashmir to be involved in the 15-member squad for the tour to Zimbabwe in July,August.

Regular skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is out with a hamstring muscle injury which he suffered throughout India’s first tri-series match towards the West Indies.

India will play 5 One-Day Internationals – 3 in Harare and 2 at Bulawayo – towards Zimbabwe in between 24 July and 3August.

Combined with Rasool, Mohit Sharma as well makes a first overall look in the team while Cheteshwar Pujara, Jaydev Unadkat and Ajinkya Rahane make a comeback to the side.

Left-handed opener Gautam Gambhir failed to make the cut.


ODI Series Schedule

At the same time, opening batsman Murali Vijay has been slipped from the squad while four bowlers – Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar – have been relaxed.

Vijay, nevertheless, has been included in the India A side, also declared on Friday, which will tour South Africa to play a tri-series such as Australia A and South Africa A Aug 8-14.

Cheteshwar Pujara will lead the India A side, which will also play 2 four-day matches against South Africa A following the tri-series.

India squad for the tour of Zimbabwe: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.

India A squad for the tour to South Africa: Cheteshwar Pujara (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shami Ahmed, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Pandey, Jaidev Unadkat, Siddharth Kaul.

Leave a Reply